11/27/16

The past month has been a rollercoaster for me. In the beginning of the month, I hurt my foot and had to go to the clinic for it. I went to the clinic and the doctor spoke English and she wanted me to get an x-ray of my foot. So I went to get an x-ray but the receptionist didn’t speak English and I had to get some kind of form from my insurance company. So I called my insurance company and pressed the option for English and when someone picked up, they spoke Hebrew. I asked if they spoke English and they told me to hold and then the line went dead. After that happened three times, I called my madrich and he helped me sort it out. So in the end, what should have taken about two hours, took four hours. ( I am fine. It was just a bad sprain)

Later in the month, I had issues with a student in the school I teach at. The students I work with have difficulties learning and socializing with each other. I can relate to them more than people know. I grew up in a therapeutic boarding school, I had difficulties and I was always around other kids with various difficulties. I know what it feels like to be misunderstood and left out of the group. I know what it feels like to be bullied everyday. I know what it is like to not fit in with any of the other kids. So when these kids misbehave or act out, I understand where they are coming from. I have 4 days a week when I teach and on 2 of the days I have 3 kids where I do one on one with and I can say that they struggle not only with English but also with being misunderstood by their teachers and other students. I have them one on one because they are behind in English but I can tell that they are behind because they don’t get the help that they need. They aren’t encouraged to do better and they aren’t motivated. But when they are with me, they try their hardest to know the right answer and if they don’t know it, they don’t guess, they ask what is the correct answer and why. I try my best to make them feel good about themselves.

Only a few days ago we had a Thanksgiving meal here in Beer Sheva. We all got together with some of our friends and celebrated Thanksgiving. It wasn’t the same as it is in the States with family but everyone here is like family to me and I am grateful that I have so many friends and family here to have celebrated it with. 15232256_4794605505527_1271968625672865814_n

In the end, I am happy to be here in Israel making a difference in peoples lives. Even though there are events that have brought me down the past month, being here in Israel has been an amazing experience so far. I have traveled to Jerusalem to go to the Kotel, I have traveled to Tel Aviv to see the beaches and gorgeous sunset and a couple of other places. If there is one thing I have learned so far since being here in Israel is that I don’t have to hide my past and that I should be true to myself. I have to be who I am and I should not be afraid to show my emotions. I have had many eye opening experiences in the past few months and I am grateful for them. I am looking forward to the rest of my time here and I will definitely be back for a longer stay!

Leave a Reply

